Kate Lieb in Jordan

Reflections from a Northeastern Journalism Student Abroad

Lost in Translation

with one comment

English translation on signs here in Jordan aren’t always so great. I can forgive grammar errors, but some signs have some terrible spelling errors. I can’t give them too much grief seeing as I’m a dreadful speller myself, but I utilize spell check to my advantage. One would think Jordanians would do the same thing, but it is becoming increasingly evident that’s not the case. Engravers: spell check is your friend, not your foe. For future reference, try your best to prevent your clientele from becoming the butt of jokes like this one.

Spotted in the Maswada Plaza Hotel in Aqaba

Strictly is a really hard word to spell, guys. I know I have to pronounce it like it’s spelled whenever I have to use it. Feel free to judge me on that. However there’s computer software to aide with spelling. Use it. Semi-related note: Google translate is not the most reliable of sources for translations in proper grammar, people.

Today, I went to the Jordan Association for Family Planning and Protection’s clinic in Sports City. Getting there was an adventure in of itself, but that’s for another time. For the sake of this blog post, I spotted this sign by the back entrance where all of the main offices at the center are located.

I can confirm that the offices at the Jordan Association for Family Planning and Protection are not a clinic and sewage plant hybrid, contrary to what the sign would like you to believe. I think correcting the error would’ve been in poor taste seeing as my visit was unannounced.

 

Written by katecl

June 9, 2012 at 10:12 am

Posted in Jordan, Translation, Travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] the original post: Lost in Translation « Kate Lieb in Jordan Share […]


Leave a comment